LowEndBox - Cheap VPS, Hosting and Dedicated Server Deals

Linux Managed - $4.48 128MB OpenVZ VPS

Update May 2010. It appears that their site has never been completed, and now their domain is not resolving. FAIL.

You know someone is extremely desperate when over the span of 2 days they sent you 3 emails to ask for their yet-to-be released VPS hosting provider site to be featured on a small fry site such as LowEndBox.com :) Okay. This post is for you, LinuxManaged, whose website is still 67% done and 4+ days away at the time I am posting this blog post. They are currently running grand opening special (as per this WHT offer). So with coupon code GRANDOPENING, you can get their “VPS-1” package for $4.48/month.

  • 128MB guaranteed/256MB burstable memory
  • 10GB storage
  • 750GB/month data transfer
  • OpenVZ/SolusVM

Servers are in Chicago. The base price for VPS-1 before discount is $7.95. However I am pretty sure that the WHMCS was not configured properly as a minimum of 1 extra IP address (at $1/month) is required. So over all it is ($7.95 + $1) x 50% discount.

Interestingly the same user (JinxHost) tried to sell that very domain a week earlier boasting 500 uniques. Well that just sounds fishy to me. Not only that, one of the “System Administrator” who emailed me about featuring their site has also posted on that same WHT thread pretending to be a customer & “recommend this to everyone”. Well. That’s sockpuppeting to me and is just out right dodgy.

Not to mention other disputes over ripped off content. Looks like these guys and another controversial provider were partners in JinxHost.com before. JinxHost was putting up offers at end of December last year, and by March the domain is already not resolving!

Now. Will you pass your hard earned moolah to this provider in exchange for a low end VPS? I won’t :) Best of luck to those who wish to give it a try.

Latest posts by LEA (see all)


  1. mina:

    haha, well done with this.

    I actually had same thought about their stuff. All i’ve seen their owner posting to all “problem threads” to customers change their current provider to new one in WHT :P

    If moving is their first action for everything, their services cant be taken seriously.

    Sorry, but pass!

    March 28, 2010 @ 7:27 pm | Reply
  2. strickenkid:

    Their setup time and everything is so amazing! You have to buy and try their service! :)

    I see all those comments on WHT, all is suggests.

    March 28, 2010 @ 9:40 pm | Reply
  3. Ryan:

    I decided bought their vps without listen to other comments about (JinxHost)’s action and way of talk on WHT.

    Setup time was 12 mins! Amazing!

    March 28, 2010 @ 9:42 pm | Reply
  4. Andrew:

    I want to let you customer know, content ripped, was accused! I have the rights since old partner “took” all right after content typed.

    March 28, 2010 @ 9:48 pm | Reply
  5. I guess someone is so desperate and so fired up, and did not even read the post before posting their sock puppeting comment. Yes I am talking to you @strickenkid.

    March 28, 2010 @ 10:55 pm | Reply
  6. Even they are still developing the website, the services are amazing. The speed of the VPS is marvelous! I recommend you all to try this.

    March 29, 2010 @ 12:27 am | Reply
  7. See?! Another one! You guys are making a joke of yourselves if you continue to push your service in this underhanded way. I am going to remove all the comments that are suspicious from this point onwards.

    March 29, 2010 @ 12:46 am | Reply
  8. Aaron:

    I’m not just looking for a VPS provider to give my money to and not get any advertised product in return. I’m looking for a full fledged cult to join, and some koolaid to drink too. These guys seem to fit the bill. How long will it take me to become a zealous customer offering nothing but positive conjecture on every website I visit?

    March 29, 2010 @ 9:54 am | Reply
  9. Their English seems to be a tad bit off….is this an American “company”?

    March 29, 2010 @ 7:01 pm | Reply
  10. Brian:

    @LowEndAdmin, thanks for the homework on these guys.
    @Aaron.. you’re almost there. Please send 1 Trillion dollars to gotcha.comb and I’ll send you the “amazing” service manual on zealotry and koolaid immersion. It’s “awesome” and “amazing”. (did I mention how “amazing” it was?)

    Sorry if i helped push this thread south. Interestingly enough, I seem to be one of the few people who had any luck with their former counterpart,(the current breezehost deal). So far it’s good, but I don’t know that I will ever be comfortable counting on them either.

    March 29, 2010 @ 7:25 pm | Reply
  11. Got me curious. Same IP addresses or different ones? Proxies?

    March 30, 2010 @ 6:15 pm | Reply
  12. Joe Merit:

    just delist this provider asap.

    March 30, 2010 @ 8:45 pm | Reply
  13. oh, what a shame! but on the other hand this kind of people makes us legit host shines lol.

    March 31, 2010 @ 7:23 am | Reply
  14. Par:

    This is just wrong. Very entertaining and all, but I’ll be staying away from this as far as possible.

    March 31, 2010 @ 12:44 pm | Reply
  15. Actually folks like this is what make legit hosts suffer. Now we have to deal with a client who has been made to suffer at the hands of a poor host, doesn’t trust any host now and is expecting the worse. These are the one who don’t trust the smaller hosts and now are going to go off to a large scale overseller like hostgator or godaddy, get kicked off of there due to usage violations, and will now think that we’re the used car salesmen of the 21st century.

    March 31, 2010 @ 2:02 pm | Reply
  16. It’s 6th of April and the website still says 2 days away. WTF?

    April 6, 2010 @ 6:05 am | Reply
  17. adam:

    their site says done 100% and just that nothin shown XD
    how can they sell VPS but their site is not online :P
    thru email???sorry but why you would buy something you dont know
    even the spec, seller info, contact etc

    April 14, 2010 @ 3:26 am | Reply
  18. Not only their website was never completed, their domain LinuxManaged.com is now NOT RESOLVING! Their old IP address at Softlayer is now pointing to another hosting company, RoyaleHost. Not sure whether they are related…

    May 11, 2010 @ 12:29 am | Reply

Leave a Reply

Some notes on commenting on LowEndBox:

  • Do not use LowEndBox for support issues. Go to your hosting provider and issue a ticket there. Coming here saying "my VPS is down, what do I do?!" will only have your comments removed.
  • Akismet is used for spam detection. Some comments may be held temporarily for manual approval.
  • Use <pre>...</pre> to quote the output from your terminal/console, or consider using a pastebin service.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *